Four NBAers set to play for Canada in FIBA World Cup Qualifiers – Sportsnet.ca


NBA players Nickeil Alexander-Walker, Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Kelly Olynyk and Dwight Powell headline the Canadian national men’s basketball team’s training camp roster ahead of the third window of FIBA Basketball World Cup 2023 Qualifiers.

Sixteen players will gather in Toronto for camp next week ahead of games against the Dominican Republic on July 1 in Hamilton (7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT) and against the host U.S. Virgin Islands on July 4 (5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT). Both games will be on Sportsnet.

Canada Basketball says RJ Barrett, Oshae Brissett, Khem Birch, Luguentz Dort, Jamal Murray and Kevin Pangos will attend training camp but not play in the games, while Cory Joseph received a team exemption due to family reasons and will not attend camp.

The remainder of the roster is filled out by European-based pros and seven-foot-four Purdue centre Zach Edey.

Canada is 4-0 in this round of qualifying and already has secured a spot in the next round.

Eighty national teams will play games across six qualifying windows to secure their place among the 30 teams who will join hosts Japan and the Philippines in the 32-team edition of FIBA’s flagship event. 



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.